Group 4 Created with Sketch.
Your changes have been saved
Episode 278 of 279

E278: The House Is Also An Ocean

Duration: 47:41
Amanda and Jenn discuss genre novels about older characters, read-alikes for Ted Lasso, and wanderlust in this week’s episode of Get Booked.
Follow the podcast via RSS, Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or Stitcher.
This post contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, Book Riot may ear
Snippets are a new way to share audio!
You can clip a small part of any file to share, add to playlist, and transcribe automatically. Just click the to create your snippet!
Snippets: Clips of E278: The House Is Also An Ocean that people like
There are currently no snippets from E278: The House Is Also An Ocean.
Snippets are an easy way to highlight your favorite soundbite from any piece of audio and share with friends, or make a trailer for Get Booked
Playlists that E278: The House Is Also An Ocean appears on.
There are currently no playlists containing this audio.
Add this audio track to one of your playlists
Add to Playlist
Up Next
Full Description
Back to Top
Amanda and Jenn discuss genre novels about older characters, read-alikes for Ted Lasso, and wanderlust in this week’s episode of Get Booked.
Follow the podcast via RSS, Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or Stitcher.
This post contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, Book Riot may earn a commission.
Feedback
Weapons of Math Destruction: How Big Data Increases Inequality and Threatens Democracy by Cathy O’Neil (rec’d by Jeff)
Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan (rec’d by Linda)
Unmentionable: The Victorian Lady’s Guide to Sex, Marriage and Manners by Therese O’Neill and The Mother Tongue: English and How it Got That Way by Bill Bryson (rec’d by Angie)
Questions
1. Years ago I read the translation of the swedish book The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist. It’s one of those underrated books that deserves more love. It’s a scifi novel featuring an older woman who moves into a senior home that is more than what it seems. Residents get the life of luxury and all their needs and dreams met, but they are required to go through weekly blood and drug tests and many participate in questionable experiments. It’s a book about trust, good and evil, the elderly, and how far things might go in the future. 
I would love to find more books featuring elderly folk, especially genre books (scifi, horror, thriller, suspense). I’ve read Fredrich Bachman, The Lido, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper – in other words (spoilers) charming, quaint books with happy, hopeful endings.  Can you recommend any books with a twist or uncertainty or a hint of something unexpected?  Thanks!
-Katherine
2. Hello Amanda and Jenn, big fan! Thank you for keeping me entertained through lockdown. My brother and I both love reading and keep trying to recommend books for each other but we have very different tastes. Books we have read this year that we thought might fit the bill for us both are:
Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (he loved and I struggled through). We both enjoyed The Examined Life: How we lose and find ourselves by Stephen Grosz and Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor E Frankl 
He prefers books that challenge him, that are eye opening/life changing and he’ll enjoy it if it’s really long. He likes non-fiction memoirs about war and classics that have stood the test of time. I adore what he likes to call ‘pop’ fiction; Crime, Thriller, Horror, anything recently published, fast paced and relatively short.
Can you suggest something that might work for us both? Thank you! 
-Jenny
3. TIME _SENSITIVE: Hello, I am going to Northern Maine with my husband for a makeshift honeymoon since ours was canceled from covid in June and I am looking for recommendations for books to read on the ride up from Philadelphia.  I am open to anything except horror, sci-fi and mystery
but something with National Park/nature feels would be nice. I would also request a Red Socks book for me (I know next to nothing on baseball but since we will be going to a game on the way to Maine and I would like to know something about the stadium or the team before going). Thank you so much and I can’t wait to hear what you can suggest. 
-Carissa
4. I am looking for a book (nonfiction or fiction does not matter) that talks about relationships between semi-distant dads and daughters. 
My dad left my mom for another woman (now my step mom) when I was 6, so honestly I was too young for it to be terribly traumatic. Now that I am grown up (I’m 27) we barely speak. My step brother came out as trans a few years ago and both my dad and step mom have responded terri
Up Next
Add to playlist
New playlist

Embed

COPY
Embed Options
Create Playlist
Select the Station you want to upload this audio to
Station
0 / 140
0 / 2000
Playlist Icon Image:
(.jpg, .png, min size 500x500px)
Privacy
Subscribers
Your
voice
matters.
Discover & Listen to the world’s largest free collection of audio
Password reset

Enter your email address that you used to register. We'll send you an email with your username and a link to reset your password.



If you still need help, contact Vurbl Support
Password reset sent

You have been sent instructions on resetting you password to the email associated with your account. Please check your email and signing in again.


Back to Sign In
If you still need help, contact Vurbl Support
Your
voice
matters.
Discover & Listen to the world’s largest free collection of audio
Reset password

Please enter your new password below.



If you still need help, contact Vurbl Support
Your voice matters.
Discover & Listen to the world’s largest free collection of audio
Verify Email

Enter your email address that you used to register. We'll send you an email with a link to verify your email.



Cancel
Delete Profile
Are you sure? We will miss you :'(
Delete
Delete Audio
Are you sure?
Delete
Delete Playlist
Are you sure you want to delete this playlist?
Delete
Notifications Mark all as read
    You currently have no notifications