Group 4 Created with Sketch.

Gardeners Questions answered from 10-5-19 - The Wisconsin Vegetable Gardener Radio show

05:37
Play Audio
Add to Playlist
Share Report
Snippets are a new way to share audio!
You can clip a small part of any file to share, add to playlist, and transcribe automatically. Just click the to create your snippet!
Top Snippets - Gardeners Questions answered from 10-5-19 - The Wisconsin Vegetable Gardener Radio show
Found on these Playlists
Add to Playlist
Full Description
Back to Top
Replay of The Wisconsin Vegetable Gardener Radio Show from 10-5-19
Heard on 860AM WNOV & W293cx 106.5FM Milwaukee, WI Saturday mornings 9-10AM CST
Heard on WAAM 1600 AM Ann Arbor, MI Sundays 7-8AM est
Heard on WWDB 860 AM Philadelphia, PA Sundays 7-8AM est
Heard on KMET 1490 AM Tuesdays 9 - 10 AM pst Banning, CA
listen here during show hours for your station:
WNOV https://tinyurl.com/y8lwd922
WWDB: https://wwdbam.com/
WAAM https://tinyurl.com/p68cvft
KMET https://www.kmet1490am.com/
Check out https://thewisconsinvegetablegardener.com/
Email your questions to TWVGshow@gmail.com

Is segment 4 Joey and Holly answer Gardeners questions

1. Kary writes in on twitter and asks I have lots of tomatoes but the plants are almost
Completely leafless The plants are in a bed covered with 2-3 inches of cocoa mulch. Maybe I should use cedar mulch next year?
AYes that is from early blight disease that is in all sorts. In order to prevent this next year using mulch around the base of the plants throughout the growing season. Early blight gets on the plant by soil Splash up and then Works itself up the plant until it kills all the leave
I would use leaves or grass clippings as wood chips will take time to break down and also use some nitrogen from the soil.

2. When making jam and it gets foamy, I heard adding a little butter will keep the foam down?
A if making freezer or fridge jam that is ok. Not ok for canned jam - shelf stable - not safe
3. “WHAT PLANTS SHOULD I NOT DEADHEAD IN ORDER TO LEAVE THE SEEDS FOR THE BIRDS?”.
Many of the ornamental grasses, sunflowers, coneflowers, black-eyed Susan, cosmos, cleome, gaillardia, coreopsis, zinnias, marigolds, asters, snapdragons, four o’clocks, goldenrod, penstemon, monarda, celosia, millet, etc. are just a few of the many perennials / annuals that will produce seed heads for the birds to enjoy.

4. Is fall the best time to feed your lawn and what do I use?
Fall is the best time to feed your lawn and you would use something high in nitrogen. That is the first number on the fertilizer bag




Check out the following sponsors that make the radio show possible: Thank you

Power Planter of www.powerplanter.com
IV Organics of www.ivorganics.com
Dr. Earth of www.drearth.com organic
Root maker of www.rootmaker.com
Flame Engineering Inc. of www.flameengineering.com Use coupon code WVG19 to get free shipping.
Pomona Universal Pectin of www.pomonapectin.com
Bobbex of www.Bobbex.com:
Beans & Barley of www.beansandbarley.com
MIgardener of www.MIgardener.com
Outpost Natural Foods Co-op of www.outpost.coop
Root Assassin of www.rootassassinshovel.com .
Handy Safety Knife of www.handysafetyknife.com Use promo code WVG to get 10% off &free shipping one time use only
BioSafe of www.biosafe.net Save 10% on your next order use coupon code TWVG at checkout
Chapin Manufacturing Inc. of www.chapinmfg.com
Pro Plugger of www.proplugger.com
Dharmaceuticals of www.dharmaceuticals.com
Soil Savvy of www.mysoilsavvy.com Use coupon code TWVG19 to save 10% at checkout
Tomato Snaps of www.tomatosnaps.com
Drip Garden of www.dripgarden.com Drip Garden
Wisconsin Greenhouse company https://wisconsingreenhousecompany.com/
Standard Process Inc. of www.standardprocess.com
Big Fat’s Hot Sauce of www.bigfatshotsauce.com
Soil Diva of www.soildiva.net
World’s coolest floating rain gauge of www.WorldsCoolestRainGauge.com
Clyde’s vegetable planting chart of www.clydesvegetableplantingchart.com
NuNu Natural Healing of www.nunuhealing.com
RowMaker of www.rowmaker.com
Eco Garden Systems of www.ecogardensystems.com Use coupon code (wiveg2019) and get $295 off the list price of $1,695 PLUS free shipping (a $250 value).
Shield n seal of www.shieldnseal.com
Bluemel's garden & landscape center of www.bluemels.com
Phyllom BioProducts of PhyllomBioProducts.com
Norwalk juicers of www.norwalkjuicers.com Use coupon code Garden talk Free Continental US shipping on the Model 290 Juicer
Tree Ripe of https://www.tree-ripe.com/
Hydrobox of https://gohydrobox.com/
Workman's friend brand https://workmansfriendbrand.com/